MMFF 2011 Movie Entries

Latest 2011 Tagalog Movie Reviews

Filipino Box Office Movies Filipino Box Office Movies Filipino Box Office MoviesFilipino Box Office Movies Filipino Box Office Movies Tagalog Movies Original Philippine Movies Original Philippine Movies Original Philippine Movies

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Himala Won In Cnn!!!


Winners in the Asia Pacific Screen Awards, the region's highest
accolade in film in 2008, were announced tonight at a special
ceremony on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia. More than 700 film
industry luminaries from the Asia-Pacific region, Europe and the
United States attended the ceremony.

Thirty two (32) films representing 17 countries were finalists in the
Awards, with winners coming from Kazakhstan, Israel, Republic of
Korea, Australia, Turkey, Islamic Republic of Iran, People's Republic
of China and India received Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

The Awards were determined by an International Jury headed by Academy
Award nominated Australian Director Bruce Beresford.

The Best Feature Film award was won by TULPAN (Kazakhstan/Russian
Federation/ Switzerland/Poland/Germany). The Award was accepted by
Producer, Karl Baumgartner. Karl Baumgartner shares the Award with
fellow Producers Valerie Fischer, Gulnara Sarsenova, Sergey Selyanov,
Henryk Romanowski, Sergey Melkumov, Bulat Galimgereyev, Elena
Yatsura, Thanassis Karathanos and Raimond Goebel.

Best Animated Feature Film was won by VALS IM BASHIR (WALTZ WITH
BASHIR, Israel/France/Germany). Producer Yael Nahlieliaccepted the
Award. Yael Nahlielishares the Award with fellowproducers Ari Folman,
Serge Lalou, Gerhard Meixner and Roman Paul.

Best Documentary Feature Film wasGGEUTNAJI ANHMEUN JEON JAENG (63
YEARS ON, Republic of Korea). The Award was accepted by
Producer/Director Kim Dong-won, who shares the Award with Producer
Lee SeungGu.

Best Children's Feature Film was THE BLACK BALLOON (Australia). The
Award was accepted by Producer Tristram Miall and Director/Writer/Co-
Producer Elissa Down. They share the Award with Co-Producers Sally
Ayre-Smith, Jimmy The Exploder and Mark Turnbull.

Achievement in Directing was awarded to Turkish director Nuri Bilge
Ceylan for UC MAYMUN (THREE MONKEYS, Turkey/France/Italy).

The Best Screenplay Award was presented to Suha Arraf for ETZ HALIMON
(LEMON TREE, Israel/France/Germany). She shares the Award with
Writer Eran Riklis, who also directed the film.

The Achievement in Cinematography was awarded to Korean Lee Mogae for
Republic of Korea).

Israeli actress Hiam Abbass received the Best Performance by an
Actress Award for her performance in ETZ HALIMON (LEMON TREE,

Iranian actor Reza Naji was on the Gold Coast to accept his award for
Best Performance by an Actor for his performance in Majid Majidi's

Four additional major Awards were announced for outstanding

Yash Chopra, founder of Yashraj Films and a legend of the Indian film
industry, has been awarded the FIAPF Award for outstanding
achievement in film in the Asia-Pacific region. The Award is
determined by FIAPF - International Federation of Film Producers
Associations, and was announced by Andrés Vincente Gomez, President
of FIAPF, who travelled from Madrid to be at the ceremony.

The UNESCO Award for outstanding contribution to the promotion and
preservation of cultural diversity through film was decided by the
International Jury and awarded to the Iranian documentary feature
film TINAR (Islamic Republic of Iran), produced and directed by Mahdi
Moniri. The Jury noted that the film was a rich evocation of rural
life in the mountainous regions of Iran.

The Jury Grand Prize is presented at the discretion of the Jury. In
2008, the International Jury has decided to present two Jury Grand
Prizes – to HONGSE KANGBAIYIN (THE RED AWN, People's Republic of
China); Directed by Cai Shangjun; and to THE PRISONER (India),
Produced and Directed by Pryas Gupta and starring Best Actor nominee
Rajat Kapoor.

Bruce Beresford, President of the 2008 APSA International Jury, said
that: "I was very impressed by the quality and originality of the
films – all of them – and I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience of
being around so many extraordinarily talented filmmakers."

Asia Pacific Screen Awards Chairman Des Power thanked Bruce Beresford
and his Jury colleagues, renowned Indian Director and Actress Aparna
Sen, US Producer Richard Luke Rothschild (whose production credits
include Tender Mercies and The Truman Show),Chinese Director and
Professor of the Beijing Film Academy Zheng Dongtian, and Hanna Lee,
Producer of the 2007 APSA Best Feature Film, the internationally-
acclaimed Miryang (Secret Sunshine), from the Republic of Korea.

Chairman of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards said: "The Asia-Pacific
region is the emerging giant of cinema. The quality and depth of
story-telling amazed not only our jury this year but is certain to
attract more audience at the global level. There is a growing
fascination and respect for films from this diverse region. It is a
tribute to the filmmakers that they now have a globally recognised
award and the broadcast reach of CNN International to promote their

The CNN APSA Viewers Choice Award for Best Asia-Pacific Film of all
Time, voted for by thousands of film fans around the world, at, went to HIMALA, Ishmael Bernal's 1982
work from The Philippines.

This is another Glory for the one and only Superstar of the
Philippines Ms Nora Aunor. Congratulations to Ishmael Bernal and
Superstar Nora Aunor.

Bravo Noranian's...


No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Blog Disclaimer

This is a personal blog that aims to share online information about latest and upcoming movies in the Philippine Cinemas. This blog is a collaborative effort of individuals who are currently registered members of other online community sites. The does not claim any form of ownership or copyright in the materials found in this blog. Most of the contents featured in this blog come from other sites. The said materials are owned by those sites where these resources are posted. However,should they disagree of being a source they can always notify us to remove their contents from showing in this blog.

Recent Readers