MMFF 2011 Movie Entries

Latest 2011 Tagalog Movie Reviews

Filipino Box Office Movies Filipino Box Office Movies Filipino Box Office MoviesFilipino Box Office Movies Filipino Box Office Movies Tagalog Movies Original Philippine Movies Original Philippine Movies Original Philippine Movies

Sunday, December 27, 2009

MMFF Best Picture Winners from 1975 to 2008

metro manila film festival
The Metro Manila Film Festival is now on its 35th year. Before the announcement of this year’s Best Picture, let’s look at the previous winners for the last 34 years.

MMFF Best Picture Winners from 1975 to 2008

1975 – Diligin Mo ng Hamog ang Uhaw na Lupa
1976 – Ganito Kami Noon, Paano Kayo Ngayon?
1977 – Burlesk Queen
1978 – Atsay
1979 – Kasal-kasalan, Bahay-bahayan tied with Ina Ka ng Anak Mo
1980 – Taga sa Panahon
1981 – Kisapmata
1982 – Himala
1983 – Karnal
1984 – Bulaklak ng City Jail
1985 – Paradise Inn
1986 – Halimaw sa Banga (only the 3rd Best Picture was announced)
1987 – Olongapo, The Great American Dream
1988 – Patrolman
1989 – Imortal
1990 – Andrea, Paano ba ang Maging Isang Ina?
1991 – Ang Totoong Buhay ni Pacita M.
1992 – Andres Manambit: Angkan ng Matatapang
1993 – Kung Mawawala Ka Pa
1994 – not awarded
1995 – Muling Umawit Ang Puso
1996 – Magic Temple
1997 – Nasaan ang Puso
1998 – Jose Rizal
1999 – Muro Ami
2000 – Tanging Yaman
2001 – Yamashita: The Tiger’s Treasure
2002 – Mano Po
2003 – Crying Ladies
2004 – Mano Po 3: My Love
2005 – Blue Moon
2006 – Enteng Kabisote 3: The Legend Goes On and On and On
2007 – Resiklo
2008 – Baler

In the past 34 years, it was only in 1994 that there was no Best Picture winner. It’s also interesting to note that in 2006, Enteng Kabisote 3 won Best Picture award besting the well-made Star Cinema comedy Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo. It’s just one of the most controversial years in the history of the filmfest.

This year, the Best Picture award is being contested by three films: Regal’ Mano Po 6, Star Cinema’s I Love You Goodbye and GMA/Imus Productions’ Ang Panday. But since Mano Po 6 was the only entry which got an “A” rating from the Cinema Evaluation Board for production excellence, then the Sharon Cuneta-starrer is the most likely to win the Best Picture award.

Among the 7 entries this year, which movie do you think will win the MMFF Best Picture?

And among the winning films from 1975 to 2008, which entry do you think was the Best Picture of all time?


No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Blog Disclaimer

This is a personal blog that aims to share online information about latest and upcoming movies in the Philippine Cinemas. This blog is a collaborative effort of individuals who are currently registered members of other online community sites. The does not claim any form of ownership or copyright in the materials found in this blog. Most of the contents featured in this blog come from other sites. The said materials are owned by those sites where these resources are posted. However,should they disagree of being a source they can always notify us to remove their contents from showing in this blog.

Recent Readers